Site navigation

Entries Now Open for the Second Scottish Tech Startup Awards

Ross Kelly


Scottish Tech Startup Awards

The awards will see 600 attendees from across the tech ecosystem come together to recognise individuals and company’s leading the way in Scotland’s tech sector.

Nominations for the second Scottish Tech Startup Awards have officially opened today, with three new categories set to feature.

Following the success of last year’s inaugural ceremony, the Scottish tech community will once again recognise and celebrate the individuals and companies leading the way in Scotland’s digital technology sector.

The awards, organised for the startup community by the team behind Turing Fest, will be hosted at Edinburgh’s Jam House venue on the 28th of November and see more than 600 attendees from across the tech ecosystem come together. The event also doubles as the de facto Christmas party for Scottish startups.

Brian Corcoran, CEO of Turing Fest, said: “Ultimately, the biggest determining factor in the success of most tech ecosystems in the world is how strong its community is. That is why we created these awards – to bring together and to celebrate all of the key people building the future of Scotland’s economy.”

The 2018 awards saw Edinburgh-based MedTech firm, Current Health (formerly Snap40), win both the Startup of the Year and the B2B Company of the Year awards.

Other notable winners include Amiqus, which took home the Tech for Good award, while Ed Molyneux was recognised in the CEO of the Year category.

Scotland’s burgeoning technology sector is forecast to be the fastest-growing sector in Scotland by 2024. To reflect the rapid evolution of the sector, the awards will see three new categories this year; SaaS Startup of the Year, Hardware Startup of the Year and Mobile Startup of the Year.

The 2019 award categories are:

  • Startup of the Year
  • SaaS Startup of the Year
  • Hardware Startup of the Year
  • Mobile Startup of the Year
  • Agency of the Year
  • Tech for Good Award
  • CEO of the Year
  • Investor of the Year
  • Diversity in Tech Champion
  • Ecosystem Champion

Nominations will be judged by an expert panel of technology founders, ecosystem builders and seasoned investors.

Ross Kelly

Staff Writer

Latest News

Business Editor's Picks
%d bloggers like this: