Site navigation

Scotland Women in Technology Awards 2018 Winners Revealed

Dominique Adams


Scotland Women in Technology Awards

People from across the tech sector congregated in Glasgow last night to celebrate the 2nd annual Scotland Women in Technology Awards. 

Scotland Women in Tech (SWiT) held its annual awards show at the Radisson Blu in Glasgow yesterday evening. The 2018 awards brought together influential members of the technology community to celebrate and recognise outstanding individuals for their successes within the tech sector and their contribution to fostering gender diversity.

The purpose of the event is to highlight, champion and celebrate women working within the tech industry in the hopes that they will act as role models to inspire the next generation of females to pursue studies and careers in STEM subjects.

Lynsey Campbell, Chair of Scotland Women in Technology, said: “We hope these awards inspire more women to pursue a career in technology and I hope we can inspire the next generation to be the innovators and creative minds we need to make Scotland a global leader in technology.”

This year saw a record number of nominations with 150 individuals put forward by their peers. The nominees set a high benchmark and SWiT Awards judge Ray Bugg, Founder of DIGIT, said deciding the winners was a real challenge due to the pool of outstanding people.

Graeme Smith, Managing Director of Amazon’s Development Centre in Edinburgh, and Gold Sponsor of the SWiT Awards, said: “The winners show that diversity of talent fosters greater diversity of ideas and innovation, and I hope their success and recognition inspires more women to study and pursue technology careers in Scotland.”

Scotland Women in Technology 2018 Winners

Primary Teacher – Lorna Hay, Pitteucher East Primary School

Secondary Teacher – Toni Scullion, St Kentigerns Academy

Technology Champion in Education – Amanda Ford, West College Scotland

Gender Aware Recruiter of the Year – Elaine Muir, JP Morgan

Employer of the Year – JP Morgan

Rising Star – Tayyaba Nafees, CyberShell

Inspirational Woman of the Year – Carole Logan, Ladies of Code

Leader of the Year – Sheryl Newman, Appetite for Business

Gender Diversity Champion – Sandra Cairncross Vice-Principal, Edinburgh Napier University

Lifetime Achievement Award – Polly Purvis OBE Chief Executive, ScotlandIS & Chair of CodeClan

Inspiring The Next Generation – Words From the Winners

Toni Scullion, winner of secondary school teacher of the year award, said: “Being recognised at the Scotland Women in Technology awards is a real honour. It is truly amazing to have won and I’m really humbled to be in such great company with all these inspiring women whose work is making such a difference in the sector.

“Being recognised as the Secondary Schools Teacher of the year is amazing and will definitely spur me on, hopefully inspiring some of my pupils or other teachers along the way.”

Carole Rennie Logan, Development Team Leader at Equator said of her win: “I am genuinely overwhelmed to get the Inspirational Women of the Year award, particularly in such an amazing group of nominees!

“Reading through the nominations, I was amazed at the great talent we have here in Scotland. It’s fantastic that the SWiT team have created this platform to ensure that this talent is celebrated.”

Sandra Cairncross Vice-Principal, Edinburgh Napier University said of the event: “What a tremendous evening – it was great to see so many people from business and education celebrating and supporting women in technology as well as the breakthrough of a new generation of women in technology!”

Dominique Profile Picture

Dominique Adams

Staff Writer, DIGIT

Latest News

%d bloggers like this: